“What A Little Bit Of Love Can Do” – Jeff Bridges


Jeff Bridges is the consummate artist.  It’s hard to figure out what he can’t do creatively.  We all know him from his acting, but he is also a gifted musician and photographer.  Since he is my favorite actor I’ve read a lot about him over the years and his life is a true inspiration.  Sure he had a successful dad in show business, but unlike many second generation actors he actually exceeded his dad’s accomplishments.  From a very early age he knew he wanted to perform as both an actor and musician and has stayed true to this mindset his whole life.

I recently saw Jeff interviewed on Charlie Rose and it was interesting to hear what he had to say.  Unlike most actors who jump at opportunities and money, he instead reads every script with the viewpoint that it is flawed and won’t work for him.  He only takes on projects that pass this scrutiny and compel him to say yes.  His rationale being that he likes being at home with his family and has plenty of other artistic interests to keep him busy.   The time away from these things is valuable and shouldn’t be taken lightly – good food for thought for those with too much naked ambition.  Clearly using this screening process has worked for him because he seems to always deliver on screen while personally living the life of a contented man.  The list of characters he’s played through the years and the acting range required to pull this off is nothing short of amazing.

The combination of Jeff Bridges and T-Bone Burnett on his latest album is a great musical pairing.  I recommend you go out and buy the CD or download it on iTunes.  I took to the song, “What A Little Bit of Love Can Do,” the moment I heard it.   Good message for the weekend.

I heard that you’ve been feeling down and blue, 
*But there ain’t nothing really wrong with you*, 
You just need a little *tendin to*
Let me show you what a little bit of love can do! 
It’s amazing what a little bit of love can do!

I’ve been told someone needs a little help, 
Having trouble getting *on with* someone else
*I’m here to tell you* everything is gonna be fine! 
Yeah I know you’re *hurtin, cause* your heart is breaking! 
I think that I can *alleviate the situation*
Look in my eyes and listen to me baby, *put your little hand in mine*

*I know* that you’ve been feeling down and blue, 
*But there ain’t* nothing really wrong with you! 
You just need a little *tendin to*
Let me show you what a little bit of love can do!

Take your time, listen to *all that I’m saying, *
*I’ve got a hunch that *loving you is worth the waiting
I’m gonna prove it to you before this night is through 
There’s a way, to turn the* pain right into pleasure*, 
Drastic times, seem to call for drastic measures, 
You need to know, girl I can fix you *if the remedy is tried and true.*

I know that you’ve been feeling down and blue, 
*But there ain’t* nothing really wrong with you
You just need a little tendin’ to
Let me show you what a little bit of love can do!

It’s amazing what a little bit of love can do, 
Let me show you what a little bit of love can do!

Related articles

About robined

Ed Robinson is an Executive Coach, Management Consultant, Teacher, Writer and Music Lover.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment