“I Wish I Was The Moon” – Neko Case


It’s rare these days that when I find out about an artist and I want to go back and listen to everything they have ever done.  About 6 months ago I discovered Neko Case and have become an avid fan ever since.  I wish I would have learned about her sooner.  The other day I listened to all of her solo albums back to back and would have gladly done it again.  This past Tuesday I saw her in concert and it was a great experience.  It was one of those concerts that seem to go by much too quickly even though it lasted almost 2 hours.

I’ve written before about my genuine appreciation for singer-songwriters. I think it makes a big difference when someone plays their own instruments and writes their own songs.  The art feels more pure and genuinely inspired rather than formulaic.  There is an even rarer breed of singers who additionally captivate you with their voice and presence.  They don’t need distractions or hysterics going on behind them but rather just a microphone in front of them.  The best ones probably don’t even need the music just the sound of their voice.

I’ve heard that when Neko first started out people would regularly compare her to Patsy Cline.  I can see why, but in my own humble opinion she raises the bar from there.  I liked the song “I Wish I Was The Moon” the instant I heard it.  I stopped what I was doing and had to pay attention.  She is a true talent.  Enjoy…

Chimney falls and lovers blaze
Thought that I was young
Now I’ve freezing hands and bloodless veins
As numb as I’ve become

I’m so tired
I wish I was the moon tonight

Last night I dreamt I had forgotten my name
‘Cause I had sold my soul but awoke just the same
I’m so lonely
I wish I was the moon tonight

God blessed me, I’m a free man
With no place free to go
I’m paralyzed and collared-tight
No pills for what I fear

This is crazy
I wish I was the moon tonight

Chimney falls and lovers blaze
Thought that I was young
Now I’ve freezing hands & bloodless veins
As numb as I’ve become

I’m so tired,
I wish I was the moon tonight

How will you know if you found me at last
‘Cause I’ll be the one, be the one, be the one
With my heart in my lap
I’m so tired, I’m so tired
And I wish I was the moon tonight

I’m so tired, I’m so tired,
And I wish I was the moon
I’m so tired, I’m so tired,
And I wish I was the moon tonight

Related articles
About robined

Ed Robinson is an Executive Coach, Management Consultant, Teacher, Writer and Music Lover.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

