“Lucky Now” – Ryan Adams


Ryan Adams is a very talented songwriter.  He’s managed to put together a career spanning more than 15 years writing music and making great albums as a solo artist and collaborator.  I find him at his best when it is just him and his guitar.  His lyrics often have wisdom beyond his years and there is a yearning to his singing which clearly indicates what he writes is heartfelt.

The critics have sometimes given him a hard time which quite frankly I don’t understand.  In my humble opinion, his songwriting production and range is pretty impressive.  Few people have created a better catalogue of songs over the past decade.   His latest effort Ashes & Fire exceeded my expectations.  He still makes CDs you want to listen to all the way through and not just mine for singles.  I especially like the song “Lucky Now.”  Enjoy the weekend!

I don’t remember, were we wild and young
All that’s faded into memory
I feel like somebody I don’t know
Are we really who we used to be
Am I really who I was

The lights will draw you in
And the dark will bring you down
And the night will break your heart
Only if you’re lucky now

Waiting outside while you find your keys
Like bags of trash in the blackening snow
City of neon and toes that freeze
We got nothing and nowhere to go
We got nothing and nowhere

The lights will draw you in
And the dark will take you down
And the night will break your heart
Only if you’re lucky now

If the lights draw you in
And the dark can take you down
Then love can mend your heart
But only if you’re lucky now

I don’t remember, were we wild and young
All that’s faded into memory
I feel like somebody I don’t know
Are we really who we used to be
Am I really who I was

Related articles
About robined

Ed Robinson is an Executive Coach, Management Consultant, Teacher, Writer and Music Lover.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

