“My Ever Changing Moods” – Paul Weller


I’ve written before about my appreciation for the work of Paul Weller.  I am amazed by his longevity and increasingly impressive body of work.  Like all good artists he has gone through various phases of experimentation in his career pushing the boundaries of his talent and craft.  I don’t always get the vibe but do always appreciate the effort.   There is nothing more boring than a songwriter who remains confined within a particular formula.  I just wish he had a larger American following so he would tour here more often.

Paul just seems to get better with age.  I could easily pick one of his songs every week for the next year. I am particularly fond of his work with The Style Council which largely took place in the 1980s.  Lately he has been revisiting some of the older songs and they sound great.  I still remember the first time I heard the song “My Ever Changing Moods” in a record store while in college. I immediately was hooked and bought the album.

He is and always has been a great lyricist.  His creative production on this front is both daunting and impressive  I don’t think he has ever written a simple pop song devoid of meaning.  Many of his songs actually have multiple layers of meaning as evidenced below:

Daylight turns to moonlight – and I’m at my best
Praising the way it all works – gazing upon the rest:
The cool before the warm
The calm after the storm:
I wish to stay forever – letting this be my food
But I’m caught up in a whirlwind and my ever changing moods.

Bitter turns to savage – some call a passive tune
But the day things turn sweet – for me won’t be too soon:
The harsh before the silence
The winds after the blast:
I wish we’d move together – this time the bosses sued
But we’re caught up in a wilderness and an ever changing mood.

Teardrops turn to children – who’ve never had the time
To commit the sins they pay for through – another’s evil mind;
The love after the hate
The love we leave too late;
I wish we’d wake up one day – an’everyone feel moved
But we’re caught up in the dailies and an ever changing mood.

Evil turns to statues – and masses form a line
But I know which way I’d run to if the choice was mine;
The past is knowledge – the present our mistake
And the future we always leave too late;
I wish we’d come to our senses and see there is no truth
In those who promote the confusion for this ever changing mood.

Related articles
About robined

Ed Robinson is an Executive Coach, Management Consultant, Teacher, Writer and Music Lover.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

