“Stormy Weather” – Echo & The Bunnymen


When I first heard Echo & The Bunnymen back in college I was immediately hooked.  I feel that Ian McCulloch and Will Sergeant are two often overlooked songwriters of their generation (at least this side of The Atlantic).  All they do is continually put out great music over a career that has lasted 34 years.  There have been artistic breaks here and there, but their body of work would stand up against just about any one of their musical peers.

There is definitely a signature sound.  You can tell it’s one of their songs right away.  I’ve always liked how the songs are produced especially the guitar and vocals.  It’s an interesting combination of crisp, clean and raw.  You get the sense that Ian is comfortable being who he is a singer/songwriter and doing what comes naturally rather than worrying about what’s popular. Will’s playing is always the perfect complement.  It always feels like Ian means what’s he’s singing and Will feels what he’s playing.   They just get better with age.  When I initially heard the song “Stormy Weather” several years ago it resonated with me right away on many levels.  Enjoy the weekend!

I hope you are feeling better now
I hope you got my letter how
Is my stormy weather now
This ain’t gonna change

It would be like everyone
Pretending there is nothing wrong
Remember when we walked and talk
Cause it never rained

And it needed more than love
And love is more than life
And I want those stars above
To shine this night

Feeling better wonder why
Acting that you laugh and cry
Eclipsing early summer sky
Somethings never change

You want it you got it
There’s nothing is chained down
You need it
I’ll steel it
Just put your name down
I’ll put my name down

I hope you are feeling better now
I hope you got my letter how
Is my stormy weather now

It had to be like everyone
Pretending there is nothing wrong
Remember when we walked and talk
Cause it never rained
It ever clog my spring

You want it you got it
There’s nothing is chained down
You need it
I’ll steel it
Just put your name down
I’ll put my name down

You want it you got it
Now I know it is to you I’m bound
You need it
God speed it
Just put your name down
I’ll put my name down

How’s the stormy weather now…

Related articles
About robined

Ed Robinson is an Executive Coach, Management Consultant, Teacher, Writer and Music Lover.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

