“There’s Water Over You” – Colin Hay


I was fortunate to see Colin Hay play live recently.  Every time I see him perform I walk away more impressed.  He is the consummate singer-songwriter who through the years has built an amazing catalogue of songs.  He is also quite a colorful character and great storyteller.  Colin commands the stage with ease and is one of the few performers who can keep you captivated for 2 hours with a solo acoustic show.  Go see him if you get the opportunity.

There is a real depth and beauty to his lyrics.  Like all good songwriters he lets you into his own story I’m not sure everything he writes is autobiographical (it certainly feels that way) but he is observant enough to reflect back the full range of the human experience.  I’ve always believed that the best songwriters make it feel like they were writing specifically for you.  We look to them to help us make sense of life and all its various stages and changes.   He often talks about his childhood and the relationship with his parents who he clearly loved.  “There’s Water Over You” is a great song that clearly reflects that connection.   I hope that one day that my children will be in their 50s having similar feelings.

I can feel your love come shining
Over and across the sea
There never was a light more blinding
Ever watching over me

I walk into the swirling wind
It carries me away
Back to where my life begins
Can you hear me say?

I can see you where you’re hiding
And there’s water over you
I know that you are pretending
And there’s water over you

I walk beside you on the wall
Oh, so far away
You will catch me if I fall
Can you hear me say?

Love and all security
These are things you give to me

I can touch you when I’m dreaming
Long into the lonely night
You hold me when I wake up screaming
Everything will be alright

And if I had to choose between
Meeting God or you
I would wake my king and queen
There’s water over you

Love for all eternity
This and more you give to me

 

About robined

Ed Robinson is an Executive Coach, Management Consultant, Teacher, Writer and Music Lover.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

