“I Take My Chances” – Mary Chapin Carpenter


From the first time I heard Mary Chapin Carpenter I was hooked. What a great songwriter and singer!  She deals with the whole range of human emotions and trials and tribulations of relationships.  It also feels like we have a front row seat to her life watching her pass through the various milestones of adulthood.  Even when the topic is sad, I somehow leave her songs feeling consoled and somewhat uplifted.  She also has the uncanny ability to transport you to place and time that ends up making her experiences feel like your own.  I imagine she must be a very empathetic person.

I felt this song. “I Take My Chances,” would be a good way to end the week.  Its message is clear.  There are very rarely any shortcuts to success or happiness.  Life is about taking chances and not being afraid to pursue your dreams.  Sooner or later you need to bet on yourself and not just rely of the good intentions of others.  You may not always succeed but you’re more likely to enjoy the ride.  “Don’t cling to remorse and regret.”  All of us need regular healthy doses of self-esteem and self -confidence.  Make sure you are surrounded by people who create this type of an environment for you.

About robined

Ed Robinson is an Executive Coach, Management Consultant, Teacher, Writer and Music Lover.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “I Take My Chances” – Mary Chapin Carpenter

  1. Pingback: Life’s Playlist…. #Thanksgiving Song by Mary Chapin Carpenter @M_CCarpenter | Notes from a Southern Kitchen

Leave a Reply

